Quanta

Mess with Gravity!

Bullet Physics…

Posted by quantagame on March 29, 2010

Bullet

In light of the PhysX issues with Linux, the annoyingly large PhysX system software redist thing, and the fact that it’s the only closed-source software I’m using; I’ve begun testing Bullet Physics out as a potential replacement. I’m not 100% sure how well it’ll integrate, especially with my character controller setup as hacked together as it is, but the switch to an open source physics engine would open up a lot of possibilities (a Mac version would be possible… reliable Linux support and so on…).

I’ll update when I have some results…

In other news ChaiScript is working rather nicely, though there have been some notable annoyances… I’ll dedicate a whole post to it a bit further down the road…

I’m also considering getting a SourceForge account set up in the near future, I have zero experience with svn and such, so it would be a good opportunity to learn and to make the source available.

One Response to “Bullet Physics…”

  1. shua said

    I just played it for the first time and it’s really fun, I still haven’t beaten chemical plant though.
    I’m glad you got chaiscript to work, we on pseudoform decided to go with boost.python because we were already using boost and more people knew and asked for python. I’m probably going to use chaiscript on whatever my next project that uses scripting will be, just for it’s ease of use. Good job, Good luck with switching to bullet, and I’m looking forward to a finished game.

Leave a Reply

 
